Skip to content

A New Chapter in Global Workforce Mobility: Updates on H-2A and H-2B Visa Programs

William Carriello
Posted on Thu Nov 9
3 min read

We’re excited to bring you some important updates from the world of immigration. The Department of Homeland Security (DHS), in consultation with the Department of State (DOS), has recently announced the list of countries whose nationals are eligible to participate in the H-2A and H-2B visa programs for the upcoming year. This information will be officially published in the Federal Register on November 9, 2023.

One of the most notable changes is the inclusion of Bolivia in the list of countries eligible to participate in both the H-2A and H-2B programs. This decision, effective from November 9, 2023, opens up new opportunities for Bolivian nationals seeking temporary employment in the United States.

The H-2A and H-2B visa programs play a crucial role in the U.S. economy, allowing employers to bring foreign nationals to the United States to fill temporary agricultural and nonagricultural jobs, respectively. While USCIS typically approves H-2A and H-2B petitions only for nationals of countries that the secretary of homeland security has designated as eligible, exceptions can be made on a case-by-case basis if it is determined to be in the interest of the United States.

As of November 9, nationals from the following countries are eligible to receive H-2A and H-2B visas:

Andorra The Kingdom of Eswatini Madagascar Saint Lucia
Argentina Fiji Malta San Marino
Australia Finland Mauritius Serbia
Austria France Mexico Singapore
Barbados Germany Monaco Slovakia
Belgium Greece Mongolia* Slovenia
Bolivia Grenada Montenegro Solomon Islands
Bosnia and Herzegovina Guatemala Mozambique South Africa
Brazil Haiti Nauru South Korea
Brunei Honduras The Netherlands Spain
Bulgaria Hungary New Zealand St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Canada Iceland Nicaragua Sweden
Chile Ireland North Macedonia Switzerland
Colombia Israel Norway Taiwan***
Costa Rica Italy Panama Thailand
Croatia Jamaica Papua New Guinea Timor-Leste
Republic of Cyprus Japan Paraguay** Turkey
Czech Republic Kiribati Peru Tuvalu
Denmark Latvia The Philippines* Ukraine
Dominican Republic Liechtenstein Poland United Kingdom
Ecuador Lithuania Portugal Uruguay
El Salvador Luxembourg Romania Vanuatu

Please note that Mongolia and the Philippines are eligible to participate in the H-2B program but not the H-2A program. Conversely, Paraguay is eligible to participate in the H-2A program but not the H-2B program.

This announcement does not affect the status of H-2 beneficiaries who are currently in the United States unless they apply to extend their stay in H-2 status based on a petition filed on or after the date of publication of the Federal Register Notice. Each country’s designation is valid from November 9, 2023, until November 8, 2024.

We hope this information is helpful to you. As always, we are committed to keeping you informed about the latest developments in immigration policy. If you have any questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to reach out. We’re here to help. Contact us at or visit our website at to discuss your plans with one of our legal professionals.

Share this post:

Related Posts

You may be eligible for a permanent visa!

Have you ever thought about living and working in the United States and living the American dream?

Find out if you're eligible